17. Pretend Soup

via for small hands

Some people cook.  Others practice the slightly less glamorous art of assembling meals. Although Julia Child may not approve, assembling meals seems to be on the path leading towards “real” cooking.  For those in this gray area (Biehus … and children under 12), Mollie Katzen’s Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes is just the ticket.  Of the many cookbooks available for children, it is one of very few that actually guides the reader through a recipe with both pictures and simple text.   A child could actually use this book.  And for those looking for child-size cooking tools, For Small Hands has assembled a nice collection.

6 thoughts on “17. Pretend Soup

  1. Biehus – I have been reading every day….well about every couple of days, but LOVE your posts! I wish I had more time to sit down and read and THINK about it more! I sent your site to my sister tot read. I think the Pause Button would work for her…she needs it right now! I hope you don’t stop writing at the end of May 🙂

  2. Never heard of this book, but sounds intriguing. EAB seems mostly interested in helping w/ cooking that involves anything sweet that she can taste. Ha!

    1. Like me! I tried to make a frittata last night and it was a disaster! BK claims it was good but I know better!

Leave a Reply

