30. Out of Place

via sfgate.com

An admirer of the Amish and fan of Little House on the Prairie who lives in a geographic hub of technology innovation is bound to feel a bit out-of-place sometimes.  That out-of-place feeling can actually be a bit self-satisfying… it lends itself to thinking things like, “Well at least I am not caught up in all of that business!  I am more dedicated to the simple things in life than some people.”

But, when I (the aforementioned admirer of Amish) was plucked from technology central and dropped into a place where I had no access to free internet, I came to an unfortunate revelation.  It turns out that I am not Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I have grown far more accustomed to access to information via the internet than I would like to admit.

I say this both as an explanation for the delay in the publishing of this post, and as a confession.  I have some work to do in my quest toward simpler living.  I need to remember how I solved problems and answered questions before the age of the internet.

One thought on “30. Out of Place

  1. I find myself wondering the same thing… and I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has thought about it! I must say, I don’t have an answer yet. For me it’s both comfy and uncomfy to be living thru the tech trans… Will be fun to see what comes of it…

Leave a Reply

