I am inspired by… the Shakers

via national geographic

Oh my!  There is something magical about this image of the Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill.  I am inspired by the beauty of the work of the Shakers – a religious group founded in the 18th century which believed that men & women can find God within themselves and that a life well spent is one dedicated to the pursuit of perfection and confession of one’s sins.  While I would not consider myself a Shaker philosophically, I really want to pay a visit to the Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill in Kentucky!  It is most certainly on my top 25 things I would like to do!  If you are interested in learning more about the Shakers, I highly recommend the documentary Ken Burns’ America: The Shakers.

Leave a Reply

