Look for the Helpers

via moomah.com
via moomah.com

It has been difficult for me to find words to talk about the tragedy at Sandy Hook School last month.  It happened 846 miles away and yet it felt so close.  Given that I am speechless, I will lean on the eloquence of others.  Moomah – a beautiful online magazine for parents – is a new favorite resource that just so happened to share the wisdom of one of my old favorites, Mr. Rogers.  Reflecting on what how to talk to children about tragic events in the news he said,

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words, and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”

I think it is very good advice.

One thought on “Look for the Helpers

Leave a Reply

