Old Becomes New

IMG_3920

A favorite book from my childhood – Sophie’s Hideaway – was in need of repair.  I was moments away from tossing the not-so-gently used copy I had ordered online.  Instead, I decided to channel my Montessori mentor teacher who is a master of reusing and repairing.  During our time together, she taught me – by example, never a lecture given – that a broken thing repaired is often more beautiful than it was unbroken. Turns out the Japanese have a name for this art – kintsugi.

Sophie now has a basket below her balloon and there is a new yellow building in the crease that has four empty windows – invitations to personalize it even further. Thank you SG.

Leave a Reply

